NEW LEXINGTON — The New Lexington FFA Chapter held its annual FFA Banquet on March 10th, 2020. The night started with the singing of the National Anthem by New Lex FFA members Emma Givens, Kelly Gordon, Lily Iser, and Olivia McGraw.

Following the National Anthem, the retiring FFA officers conducted the opening ceremonies. Chaplain Laura Scholl gave the invocation for dinner and Reporter Katie Gall presented the Slide Show of all of our year’s memories.

After the conclusion of dinner, the awards ceremonies were held. Keyairra Helton, and Alexis McCord presented freshman award recipients. Kayla Snider and Tonya Moore presented sophomore award recipients. Kelly Gordon and Dekota Graf presented junior award recipients. Kaylee Anderson and Alex Posey presented senior award recipients. Kim Kellogg and Ryan Boyle presented the scholarship and leadership award recipients. Domonic Bowersock then recognized the fruit, beef and cheese results from our fall fundraiser, and the strawberry sale results from the spring.

The top seller of fruit, beef and cheese was Kayla Snider who sold 104 units, and the top seller for strawberries was also Kayla Snider who sold 56 flats of berries.

Abi Smith-Beach then announced the winner of our Big Buck contest, which was Josh Dold. Smith-Beach also announced the results of the CO2 Car Drag Race contest, which was Nikki Wood, and the Backhoe Rodeo results. The winner of the Backhoe Rodeo was Clayton Muncy, and the winner in the Powderpuff Division was Laura Scholl.

Emma Givens then recognized the members who participated on District, State, and National Judging teams. Alese Finley got a gold rating on her secretary’s book, and Olivia Holman for a silver rating on her treasure’s book. The 2020 American FFA Degree recipients were Brooke Wiseman, Rex Howdyshell, and Dalton Thomas. Our 2020 State FFA Degree recipients were Alese Finley, Katelyn Gall, Olivia Holman, Clayton Muncy, and Laura Scholl. The Snider Family FFA Jacket recipients were Maylynn Finley, and Kelly Gordon. The 2020 and 2021 FFA Queen is Emma Snider.

Invocation of the 2020 and 2021 officers are Grace Baker as president, Egan Hoffman as vice president, Andrea Groves as secretary, Olivia McGraw as treasurer, Nevaeh Ogle as reporter, Zane Ortman as sentinel, Paul Coey as student advisor, and Laura Scholl as chaplain. The chapter would like to thank all the sponsors and all who helped make this wonderful event possible.

Respectfully submitted by Nevaeh Ogle, the New Lexington FFA reporter

Load comments