NEW LEXINGTON — For the 18th consecutive year, IBI Group has awarded a scholarship to a Perry County high school senior toward their college tuition this fall. Recipient, Zachary L. Wright, of Sheridan High School, will receive a $1,500 scholarship from IBI Group toward his college tuition this fall.

Wright will study civil engineering at The Ohio State University. The second recipient is Jasson A. Aguilera, who is graduating from Rock Hill Senior High School in Lawrence County.

IBI Group’s 2020 Scholarship Program received 131 applications from high school students in southeastern Ohio counties (one scholarship goes to a Perry County student each year). Ohio University, as an independent third party, reviewed the qualified applications and recommended the recipients.

The Scholarship Program was established in 2003 to foster college participation in students from southeastern Ohio. High school seniors from Adams, Athens, Fairfield, Hocking, Lawrence, Licking, Meigs, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pickaway, and Washington counties were eligible to apply. These counties were selected to participate in this year’s program based on the work of IBI Group’s New Lexington and Columbus offices within those counties. To date, IBI has awarded $56,000 to 36 high school students in southeastern Ohio.

While students entering all career fields were eligible, there was an emphasis on awarding scholarships to those applicants interested in pursuing study in the field of engineering at an accredited university.

Load comments